Online sports articles and news over the net

Latest online sports news , sports articles and sports videos

FC Barcelona 5th Trophy in 2015

Posted on | January 5, 2016 | No Comments

FC Barcelona have managed to win the fifth trophy in 2015, after beating South American champions River Plate 3-0 in the final of FIFA Club World Cup. The European Champions qualified easily to the finals after 3-0 victory against Chinese club Guangzhou Evergrande.

The Uruguayan striker, Luis Suárez,  managed to score all three goals of the semifinal, proving once again that he deserved every penny that were paid for him.

In Sunday’s match football betting fans were expecting a more balanced game but that was not the case. And that was due to the fact that both Messi and Neymar, who were missing the semifinal, have played.

Messi opened the score line  in the 36th minute and Suarez make the double in minutes 49th and 68th.

With this success, Barcelona became the first team in the world who won the FIFA Club World Cup trophy three times. The first trophy was won in 2009 after a victory against Estudiantes 2-1 while the second was in 2011 against Santos 4-0.

This is the fifth trophy of the year for Luis Enrique’s men as they won La liga, Copa del Rey, Champions League and European Super Cup.

The Spanish giants missed the chance to win the sixth trophy of the year, Spanish Super Cup. Atletic Bilbao have won the trophy with 1-5 the overall score.



Leave a Reply